Lets talk about block time

The point of this thread is to start a productive discussion about the pros and cons of changing block time, and get a better understanding of what impacts both good and bad, it will have on users, businesses, exchanges, miners, devs, etc.

Here is what I understand about block time so far, and how it impacts these different groups of people. Please correct me if I am wrong, I am far from an expert.

1. Decreasing block time increases the frequency of orphaned blocks which decreases miner profitability. Unless we add something that ETH does where uncle (orphaned) blocks are rewarded coins.
  2. Decreasing block time decreases the variance in time it takes for a transaction to be confirmed.
  3. Decreasing block time makes each block individually weaker as less hash power is securing each block. This could make individual blocks more vulnerable to be maliciously orphaned and make double spending confirmed transactions less costly.
  4. Decreasing block time would improve user experience because confirmation time would have less variance.
  5. Decreasing block time would give businesses the option to accept a faster 1 block confirmation for transactions if they are comfortable with it being backed by less hash power security. This would also make the user experience better.
  6. I understand 0-confirmation is relatively safe for small amounts, but I think most businesses feel much safer if they wait to accept at least 1 confirmation just to make sure everything is okay, myself included.

Questions I have about block time:

1. Do we know why Satoshi choose 10 minutes for block time? Was it because 2009 tech was slower? If Satoshi was creating Bitcoin today in 2021 what block time do you think he would choose?